Brian D. Stone Awards Honor Outstanding Dental Students



Brian D. Stone Awards Honor Outstanding Dental Students 1

Dr. Kim Capehart, former DLN • SC Leadership Council Chair and DDS Volunteer (left), and Award recipient Emily Williams

Despite the strange end to the school year, we are very proud to announce the recipients of the 2020 Brian D. Stone Awards! Each year, Dental Lifeline Network recognizes one outstanding student in each participating accredited dental school. This student always embodies the DLN mission with their demonstrated passion for volunteer service or caring for patients with disabilities.This year, we added eight more participating schools, so we were able to award 38 students!

2020 Brian D. Stone Recipients

  • Bhakti Desai, University of Alabama School of Dentistry
  • Kimball Washburn, A.T. Still University, Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health
  • Austin Tidwell, Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine – Arizona
  • Jamie Azdair, Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC
  • Youngioon Kim, Loma Linda University School of Dentistry
  • Ayathi Apostolopoulous, University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine
  • Stephanie Tsui, UCONN School of Dental Medicine
  • Emily Williams, The Dental College of Georgia – Augusta University (Pictured)
  • Olivia Lofgren, University of Iowa College of Dentistry
  • Viveka Patel, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry
  • Christopher Woodard, Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine – Illinois
  • Joseph Marsek, Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine
  • Amanda Martinez, Indiana University School of Dentistry
  • Courtney Kaba, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Dentistry
  • Sarah Chhadh, University of Kentucky College of Dentistry
  • Andrew Gutzka, University of Louisville School of Dentistry
  • Jason Simms, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Dentistry
  • Brent Mullen, Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
  • Daniel Duarte, University of New England College of Dental Medicine
  • Elizabeth Macchione, University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
  • Sheba Vincent, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry
  • Michael Chon, A.T. Still University – Missouri School of Dentistry & Oral Health
  • Elizabeth Lucas, University of Mississippi Medical Center School of Dentistry
  • Jennifer Rosenbaum, Rutgers School of Dental Medicine, Office of Student Affairs
  • Matthew O’Neil, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Dentistry
  • Lynn Lê, Penn Dental Medicine
  • Daniel Myers, Temple University – Maurice H. Kornberg School of Dentistry
  • Andrew Jockers, University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine
  • Mirna Rezkalla, James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine, Medical University of South Carolina
  • Michele Collins, Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry
  • Rachel Jahraus, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
  • Caroline Brown, UT Health San Antonio – Dentistry
  • Kimberly Veltman, Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine
  • Dayana Arreola, University of Utah School of Dentistry
  • Clay May, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry
  • Emmaleigh Cox, University of Washington School of Dentistry
  • Patrick Berg, Marquette University
  • Lauren Bakos, West Virginia University School of Dentistry

The Brian D. Stone Award was established over 30 years ago by Drs. Joy and Justin Stone of New Jersey. The award is named after their son. Dr. Justin Stone treated many patients with disabilities in his career, and formed what is now DLN • New Jersey in 1976 in order to help people with developmental disabilities.

The collaborative partnership between these accredited schools and DLN allows us to recognize future dental professionals who believe in the importance of volunteerism, and of helping our most vulnerable populations. It is our hope that these individuals will continue this dedication into their professional careers, helping at-risk people through Donated Dental Services (DDS). The DDS program connects volunteer dentists with patients in need: those who have a permanent disability, who are elderly or medically compromised, and have no other resource to pay for dental care. DDS allows volunteer dentists to provide care in their own office. Students can pledge to volunteer once they graduate at

To establish an award program at your school, contact Jennifer Venerable at or 303.534.5360.

The post 2020 Brian D. Stone Awards Honor Outstanding Dental Students appeared first on Dental Lifeline Network.